As a general, guiding philosophy I do too much. Apart from running this podcast/blog I started a label last year called Whited Sepulchre Records. I am releasing a new album by Midwife (a.k.a Sister Grotto) called "Like Author, Like Daughter". You may recognize Sister Grotto's name from my best of list. Her album "You Don't Have to Be a House to be Haunted" was an absolute masterpiece. For this Midwife project Madeline Johnston has teamed up with Tucker Theodore to create an album of thundreous power chords, stirring choruses and that kind of lump in your throat emotional honesty that you hear in fleeting glimpses in traditional "rock" songs. 

Recorded in the wake of her forced eviction from Denver's famed Rhinoceropolis home, Madeline has crafted songs that embody despondancy, lonelieness and longing - if only for a time - to turn that energy into songs that are bursting at the seams with an earned sense resiliency. A begrudging sense that things might be OK, even when singing your deepest regrets under a mountain of reverb and everyhting sounds like it is falling apart in the most complete way.

Pre-orders are up now. 

Thursday, April 20th, 2017 | Add New Comment (0)

Planning for Burial – “Whiskey and Wine” Below the House (The Flenser)

Talk Break

08:00 - Planning for Burial – “Whiskey and Wine” – Below the House (The Flenser)North

11:00 - Atlantic Drift – “Dream Sequence”Departures vol. 1 (Polar Seas Recordings)

16:15 - Terrence Hannum – “Impiety” Impiety (Umor Rex)

21:18 - Somesurpises – “Late July” Serious Dreams (Eiderdown Records)

26:48 - Gareth Flowers – “Second” Gareth Flowers/Ritual 77 Split (Tandem Tapes)

27:50 - Benjamin Finger – “Without Traces” Ghost Figures (Oak Editions)

30:50 - Knives of Spain – “Every Island Needs a Sea”Telluric (Hairy Spider Legs)

Talk Break

38:50 - Mukqs – “Belzenef”Useless Person (Umor Rex)

42:00 - MZK – “!SetSail!”SetSail (Bloxham Tapes)

48:05 - Strategy – “Noise Tape Emax”The Infinity File (Geographic North)

52:55 - Missing Organs – “Falten” Old Speakers (Umor Rex)

58:33 -Thé Déluge – “No Country”Forest Structures (Umor Rex)

1:03:25 - DJ DJ Tanner – “Bent Altar” ICE AT 1991 (Personal Archives)

Talk Break

1:08:35 - Desert Center – “Queensland Pitch Drop” You, Unfamiliar (Personal Archives)

1:19:30 - Roaring Twenties – “Lovesick” Roaring Twenties/Slow Chapel Split (Washed Recordings)

1:24:45 - Stars are Insane – "Winter Will Be Long and the Nights Will be Cold" To Be Here (Rok Lok Records)

Talk Break

1:30:25 - Persona Black – "((Defiled))"((Defiled)) – (Ephem-Aural)

Tuesday, March 21st, 2017 | Add New Comment (0)

I once had a client astutely describe Drake's musical output as "songs that get you hyped, songs that get you in your feelings". I tried to pattern this podcast off of that observation. I also added "songs that blow your miiiiind."

04:05 - Adrian Knight – “Here Come the Blues” – On the Prowl Again (Galtta Media)
07:51 - Cola Necromancy – “Vacation Pamphlets” – Family Vacation (Illuminated Paths)
11:40 - Fenimore – “激怒 __ 謙虚” – ダイヤモンド JIM : 夢を完備 (Illuminated Paths)
17:08 - Koala Bear the Person – “Phantom Limb" - To Panda (Illuminated Paths)
19:33 - Sam Brown – “We Don’t Need Anybody” – Wheel of Fortune (Illuminated Paths)
24:45 - NAH – “May 7th (Feat Moor Mother) – MICHAEL (Self Released)
26:53 - J good. – “Ashenil” – this (Illuminated Paths)

Talk break

33:15 - Hey Exit – “It Lasts a Very Long Time” – Slow Names 4: The Bitter Scent of Light (Of Plants)
35:00 - Bvdub – “04” – Yours are Stories of Sadness (Sound in Silence)
37:44 - Daniel J. McKenzie – “Unser Blauer Morgen” – Every Time Feels Like the Last Time (Eilean Records)
44:10 - Stabilo – “As Well “ – Andrew (Sound in Silence)

Talk break

52:55 - Lung Cycles – “Field of Glass” – On Being Lumpy (Lily Discs and Tapes)
58:20 - Deadman’s Ghost – “Antidote” – Hypocritical Oath ( Ephem-Aural)

Talk break

1:04:33 - Expo 70 – “Village of Forst” – Exquisite Lust (Sonic Meditations)
1:11:10 - Magic Arrows - “Coloured Mallard” – Shortwave Now (Illuminated Paths)
1:16:50 - Darsomba - “From Insects to Aliens” – Polyvision (Sonic Meditations)

Tuesday, January 31st, 2017 | Add New Comment (0)


This was the first sentence from my 2014 review of Snake Hymns, a tape by bus gas.

"After digesting the news this morning, Snake Hymns seemed like a natural choice to ruminate on those feelings that things probably aren't getting better."

2014. That was 2014. I'm not saying I'm a prophet. But...

TBH anyone remotely sentient could portend about international and domestic developments not getting any better. But even at my most pessimistic couldn't have predicted the shit years of all shit years that 2016 was and the oncoming storm we are watching come in as we contemplate the next four.

The feeling of involuntary stasis while watching something thick and black on the horizon coming at you is the #currentmood of Bus Gas's latest on Spring Break Tapes! Live On Leave Us begins with the sidelong "Top Ten Funerals" which serves to explode the unsettling ache of Snake Hymn's electro-acoustic, semi-improvised compositions and instead moves into the longform piece that surges and eddies with swells of static-surfing guitar drones and washes of clarion-clear sustained tones that ratchet up the tension and suspended dread on each pass. The piece is an exercise in sustained tension. A storm cloud that builds and builds but never quite breaks.

Side B - "Infinity Cymbals" is a propulsive, longitudinal composition that grows out of a slight pulse of a bass line until it accrues more and more audio fragmentation, including the strangled clang of underwater solo line that spirals into an all-is-lost squall. All of this is sustained by some truly effulgent and golden drones, a gilding that suggests wonder and connectedness in defiance and struggle.

A truly mesmerizing fork-in-the-road in one of most undersung but praiseworthy groups putting out music today.

Purchase from Spring Break Tapes!

Tuesday, January 17th, 2017 | Add New Comment (0)


Less talk, more rock. For the second episode of the Tome to the Weather Machine Podcast I delve into some of 2016's unsung heroes of Indie Rock. You'll notice the improved audio quality. I produce all of these at the Hamilton County Public Library. Thanks tax payers!

Intro - Fly Ashtray – Coefficient of Haze – We Buy Everything You Have (Old Gold)

019 - Talk Break

03:43 - Fly Ashtray - "Coefficient of Haze" - We Buy Everything You Have (Old Gold)

06:12 -Jerusalem and the Star Baskets - "Golden Green" - L.A. Freeze (Hitt Records)

09:26 - Graham Repulski – "Typhoon Reform" - I’m Even Younger Now (Self-Released)

11:27 -Soda Lillies – "Honey Wire" Love Cemetary (RokLok)

14:08 - pills - "Make U Cry" - sleepy pills (demo) - (Self-Released)

17:01 - Turnip King – "Carsong"Laika (Fire Talk Records)

Talk Break

22:18 - All Your Sisters – "Open Wide"Uncomfortable Skin (The Flenser)

26:27 - Terminus Cursus – "Enthroned" On Of – (Self-Released)

30:41 - Behavior – "New Postures"Split with Maxwell Genders (Squid Records)

Talk Break

34:12 - Silent Tongues – "Painted Blood"Creatures of Habit / Habits of Creatures (Self-Released)

38:16 - Stronger Sex – "K in a Sunbeam"Blight Makes Right (BLIGHT)

44:27 - Supplier – "Birth Daing" Supplier I (Floordoor Records)

47:45 - Graffiti Trials – Excerpt from Side B No Dancing (Split Pursuit Tapes)

Talk Break

55:08 - The Hecks – "The Thaw"S/T – (Trouble in Mind)

57:58 - The Furr – "Aeroplane"Human Too (Fleure Tapes)

1:01:39 - Blueblack – "Don’t Call Me Girl" Destroy (RokLok Records)

1:04:20 - The National Park Service – "Knowing 1"Secret Wind (Lily Discs and Tapes)

Tuesday, January 10th, 2017 | Add New Comment (0)